View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 2017-08-22 06:12:05

Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
 Working on MSEE program after JD. Career advice? 

I graduated from a top 25 law school last year with mediocre grades and no law journal experience. I have a BS in biochemistry and no work experience in that field. No luck finding a job coming out of law school. I got the impression that electrical engineering is a highly sought-after field for patent law, so I enrolled in a master's program for electrical engineering. I plan on being done with that sometime in 2014, depending on what I choose as my area of emphasis.

I'm not sure whether I want to get into patent prosecution or litigation, but for now, I'm leaning toward prosecution. I took a patent drafting class in law school and I liked it. I took a couple substantive patent law classes and found those interesting, too. I plan on taking the patent bar this summer.

I realize that it's kind of an unusual path, as most EE/JD people do the EE degree first. I’ve been kind of a lazy turd my entire academic career (which might explain the odd mixture of degrees), but I would like to start getting my life in order.

Does anyone have any insight/advice to give regarding employment opportunities after I'm done with the MSEE? Here are some related questions in no particular order.
1. Have any of you gone down a similar route?
2. How difficult is the job market for entry-level patent attorneys these days? Patent agents?
3. Should I try to get some kind of engineering internship this summer? Do law firms even do summer internships for post-JD students?
4. Has anyone heard of any IP firms that have a part-time work/internship program that I would be able to do during the school year?