View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 2017-10-22 03:07:01

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Cart Before the Horse 

Hello everyone. I have no knowledge of patents and would like some feedback on my situation.

I designed and built a product in my machine shop back in early 2008. I immediately posted pictures on a public industry forum that could benefit from such a product and started selling it to it's members. I then started a website with a .com brand name for it and a company brand name that I have never registered.

I've made a living manufacturing and selling this product direct to the consumer world wide ever since, and it is getting well known. It has been very successful with not one return in all these years.

Later in 2008, a large manufacturer in this industry was granted a patent for a similar product, and they started offering it for sale in 2009.

There are differences in our products, while they have similarities.

I'm sure this company knows about my product, as it is a tool that can be used with their product line. My product can be use with any product line in this industry, whereas theirs is limited to their product line.

Where am I in regards to patents? Do I have any protection from what I've done? I wish to go to the next level in manufacturing and sales and grow from here.

Hope I'm making sense here.

Any feedback would be much appreciated.

2014-02-23 11:31:39

Hi,

as you did not apply for a patent, they are free to produce their product without your permission.

If you made your invention early 2008 and their patent was granted later in 2008, it seems highly probable that they conceived (and also filed) their invention before you made yours, because patents usually are granted only a few years after filing of the application.

When you read the claims of their patent, do you find at least one claim where all the elements (limitations/features) of that claim are present in your product?