View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 2017-06-25 14:12:46

Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 BS in CS after law school? Better/any career prospects? 

Like most of my graduating class, I have been desperately trying to find work for the past year. Unfortunately, I have been very unsuccessful in getting any response to any of the applications I've submitted across the country. It's incredibly frustrating but as the student loans have come due, the pressure is really on to find something or do something. Since I have had no luck with finding anything, I'm considering a move back to undergrad to get a second bachelor's degree in Computer Science.

Please hear me out before you think I'm insane. My undergrad degree is in chemical engineering and I have minors in petroleum engineering, chemistry, and French. I was an examiner at the USPTO for 2.5 years, left to go to law school, and got out with my JD/MBA. I'm a registered patent agent and am taking the PA bar exam (for the first time). While I was in law/B-school, I did a bunch of internships/clerkships all focused on IP and expanded my tech background to include biomedical devices and mechanical engineering arts as well as business methods. The only tech area where I am lacking in experience is in electrical and computer technology. My grades are so-so (GPA is above 3.0, but nothing stellar) and I spent my time networking and working rather than writing on journals.